Today seemed to go the same way my days were going for the past two weeks…

Days where I spent my time doing jobs that were important for my family’s continued well-being. Mommy and house help kind-of jobs. Jobs that involved looking after my happy, bouncy kid who was down with a viral infection, to calling plumbers and checking under carpets for lost toys and swept-up dirt, on to managing tired tantrums and exam stress of my elder one.

Yes, like every mom, I’m Superwoman in disguise, though on days like these I feel more like Wolverine fighting hairballs.

These were the kind of days where I looked at my work calendar and planned many things but managed to do only the most urgent ones. Days like these created backlogs because I needed ‘mind space’ to work the not-so important stuff.

First let me explain what not-so-important usually means in my dictionary…something unrelated to family and work.

In plain English…That’s doing something that gives joy only to me. The words I write for myself, and me alone. From my blog to my story that was on it’s fourth edit to articles that reflected my views.

The last two weeks, while I was running around trying to be supermom, I carried the image of a kind of haven in my head. It was a room with a window that looked out into a green space. In that room’s golden silence and green view, I thought and I wrote.

It would be a desk like the one on top or even a smaller one would do:)

small-table

That’s what my life was supposed to be. All this was just an interlude.

Then yesterday my inbox threw in a mail from one of my favourite inspirational blogs and I got goosebumps.

Stephen King, came and personally nudged me back on the right track.

He said…

quote-it-starts-with-this-put-your-desk-in-the-corner-and-every-time-you-sit-down-there-to-stephen-king-41-97-23.jpg

Read that inspiring mail  in Zenpencils unique style here…

That’s why, finally, in the middle of all that life around me, I picked up my art.

So when are you doing your art?

Leave a Reply

